Bharat Petroleum dazzles at RPTM 2020

10 Feb 2020 | BPCL

Bharat Petroleum radiated the brightest at the 24th Refining and Petrochemical Technology Meet (RPTM 2020) in Bengaluru from 19th-21st January 2020. Bagging a whopping 5 out of 8 awards for Refining, Innovation, and R&D, BPCL once again proved its commitment to redefining benchmarks, winning prizes in various categories and competing against all the refineries of India including RIL, HMEL and Nayara for significant improvements in performance, energy efficiency and innovation.

“Driving Refining and Petrochemicals Towards Sustenance” was the theme of RPTM 2020 organised by the Center for High Technology in association with Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited under the aegis of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (MoPNG). Dr. MM Kutty, Secretary, MoPNG inaugurated the meet on 19th January 2020. The meet was attended by 1500 delegates from various oil companies, catalyst manufacturing companies, licensing firms, and design & engineering companies from India and abroad.

Kochi Refinery was declared ‘Winner’ in ‘Innovation Awards 2018-19’ under the ‘Best Innovation in Refinery’ category for BPMARKK (Usage for Predicting Crude Yields). Kochi Refinery also received the Refinery Performance Improvement Award (Second Prize) for commendable performance among Indian Refineries. Corporate Research & Development Center (CRDC) was adjudged ‘Winner’ in ‘Innovation Awards 2018-19’ under ‘Best Innovation in R&D Institute’ category for ‘K Model: Quick & Accurate Prediction of Crude Oil Blend Compatibility and Blend Optimisation of N Number of Crude Oils’. In the same category, CRDC was also awarded for the development of ‘Bharat-DWC Technology’. Mumbai Refinery received the Award for ‘Innovation in Refinery’ for ‘In-line Crude Blending’.

Dr. MM Kutty felicitated all the winners with the awards and appreciated them for their amazing work. Mr. R Ramachandran, Director (Refineries), Executive Directors of Refineries and CRDC along with respective teams received the awards on behalf of BPCL.